Pilates has Practical Uses, as do User Experience Experts!

I visited friends in Portland, and had planned a leisurely trip down the coast. But expected weather is speeding my return. I rode down to Ashland, and then on to Vacaville. On the way to Ashland I passed the Rogue River Valley, location of a well known upscale retirement home: three stages are covered. Respective living quarters are arranged in concentric circles. Outer circle: apartments with occasional visits from health care professionals. Central circle: first stroke; ‘already fainting some’. Inner circle: essentially hospice. Buses run to Ashland for entertainment. The area is beautiful: mountains, etc. But never in my life would I want to be that isolated. Ever. The transitions towards the inner circle are difficult, I heard; not surprisingly.

Oh, and at a gas station a man with a large beard, leather chaps and jacket, fueling a Harley, approached me. Voice entirely lacking affect. Quite odd. But: he is from Marblemount, WA on Rt.20. He knew Tootsie, her cinnamon rolls, the money pool on when the road closes and opens, Tootsie’s son. Everything. This encounter happened two States away.

I could have gone on home today, but I really don’t want to. Therefore the stay in the Marriott Courtyard, which has a courtyard.

Notice location of toilet paper

Notice location of toilet paper

Notice the location of the toilet paper roll. Once you know where it is, you could imagine groping for it with your left hand. Since I did not possess such prior reconnaissance my Pilates training’s spinal twists came in real handy! This toilet paper roll positioning travesty is why you need user experience (UX) people, like my daughter. These experts place themselves into users’ positions, and thereby determine optimal designs. This architect needed a UX person who went through the entire user process. That toilet roll would not be where it is with my daughter in charge!

About paepcke

This is my first blog. I am experimenting. Please don't expect anything polished or regular.

Posted on September 23, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is sooo funny. I am laughing out loud.

Leave a comment